My passion

Hi my name is Brandon and this is a blog about my passion. My passion is sports my current sports that I play is competitive swimming and archery. I have been swimming for 6 years and doing archery for about 2 years. I am very competitive and I have been trying to get into my middle school team for both sports. I currently swim for a team in northern Kentucky the team is a gold medal team meaning that it is one of the best teams in the U.S.

My favorite sport out of the two is swimming. A little back story about swimming is I started at about 5 years old, when I started I sucked really bad. During that period of time my best time did not matter to me, but instead if I got disqualified or not. When I did not get disqualified it seemed like I won a gold medal in the Olympics. Then all of that changed, during my regional meet I started winning events. I got first place in my 50 fly. That signaled the beginning of my rising swimming career. Over the years I have been through many ups and downs. I started going to a meat called Junior Olympics this is where all the swimmers from Northern Kentucky and Ohio get together and compete, but there is a catch you get a certain time for an event for it to qualify for the meet. During one of my earlier meets I added time in all of my events and just fell a part. Later I realized the reason of my down fall was that I got so nervous I just could not focus on technique. On the flip side of the coin, I have to let myself get into the moment so I get an extra burst of adrenaline. I found the balance during my last season as a nine and  year old. I really wanted a Lego set from my parents and it was the last event of the meet. So I let my self become victim of the adrenaline but at the same time I concentrated on my technique. When it was time to swim I was ready, I ended up dropping 6 seconds and getting 6 best 100 fly swimmer in northern Ky and Ohio. Another time was recently, during the summer I was in a relay team with older kids I knew if the team did not succeed the parents would blame me for the loss so I went the fastest time of my life. My team ended up dropping about 20 seconds. I then carried that confidence of what I was capable of and went a 1:16.52.

University student and Commonwealth Games silver medallist Jess Slyvester 

University of Nottingham via Compfight

2 thoughts on “My passion

  1. Hi Brandon, I loved your post. I also swim for a very competitive swim team ,and swim in the Junior Olympics. The post was amazing but it had some mistakes. I noticed that when you said, “I found the balance during my last season as a nine and year old.” you say nine and year old. You might want to fix that ,but other than that the post was amazing. I do have some questions. For starters, what is your best 200 butterfly time. that is my best event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *